Skip to content

Big Country Hall will add 12 new inductees

ABILENE—C.H. Underwood of O’Brien will join 11 others who will be inducted into the Big Country Athletic Hall of Fame Monday night here at the Abilene Convention Center.

Underwood was the coach of the first Texas state six-man football championship team from O’Brien in 1972. He also coached at both Knox City High School and Benjamin High School, where he posted a 356-157 record as a varsity basketball coach in 21+ seasons.

Other inductees from the class of 2020 include—rodeo star Lari Dee Guy of Clyde, former Abilene High quarterbacks Ahmad Brooks and the late David Bourland, former Super Bowl champion Jerry Don Logan of Graham, basketball player and coach Milton Martin of Avoca…

For more on this story, read The Knox County News-Courier this week, or subscribe to the pdf version online. ©Copyright 2021 The Knox County News-Courier.

Leave a Comment